The power to evoke another world

This post has now moved to The Power of Language’s new home here.

About Diiarts

Diiarts is an independent publisher dedicated to the work of outstanding new writers. Our ambition is to deliver high quality books from authors to readers with fewer barriers in between. We offer books with character—books that entertain, challenge and inspire; books for people who love books. If mainstream publishers are the Tesco of the world of books—providing bulk products for a mass market—we believe that Diiarts is the farmers’ market of the industry, offering something different: something distinctive, high quality and full of flavour.
This entry was posted in Diiarts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The power to evoke another world

  1. The only theory I can pose in regard to the desire for such stripped-down writing nowadays is this:

    People want to look busy. They don’t want to let others know they might actually have the tendency to luxuriate in lush, detailed prose because, well, that takes TIME. If they do stop to read a well-turned phrase which uses more words than strictly necessary, they’ll be viewed as incorrigible layabouts wasting the day and contributing nothing to it.

    For many of us now, it’s much more important to believe the world will stop without our contribution to it, to think that if we step outside the rush-rush of daily life, nothing will be done properly and it’ll be our fault.

    Meh. I’d rather take the time and read something which can pull me out of this hum-drum, hurry-up-and-wait existence. I need to find a place inside my head for a while, a place described so intricately I can smell and hear and feel it all as though I’m actually there. I’m willing to allow myself a bit of inner peace while I read something which permits me to feel as though I’m communing with everyone else who is reading and enjoying the same.

    Heaven knows, that space isn’t as crowded as it once was.

  2. I so agree with everything said about Of Honest Fame. I was reading it today and I though…”This is what writing is supposed to be about.” It’s exactly what I set out to do when I began writing, to bring back the beauty of prose, to bring art back into literature. I want to be entranced, not only by the plot, but by the words used to create it, like so many brushstrokes on a canvas. It isn’t just the vague outline of a woman in a Renoir that gets our attention, but how he rendered it, in a thousand hues applied in a hundred directions.

    But it isn’t just writing, it’s our entire commerce driven world that has been stripped down to minimalistic, disposable commodities. Yet most people know high quality furniture when they see it, or china, or linen. Everyone knows the difference between a real oil painting and a print, or even when that painting has been less than skillfully rendered. True art edifies and improves and most people, whether they realize it or not, understand the difference.

    I hope I’m seeing a change, and I hope that Bennetts is at the forefront of this. And I hope the demand for such works of extraordinary beauty and genius grows. Such a thing can only be beneficial, to readers, to writers, and to society. Call me idealistic, but it’s what I’ve been waiting a very long time to see.

  3. Paul House says:

    I agree with almost everything. The so-called ‘fast food’ option is almost always plot-based writing where there is no character development and no need of any. When a novel is character-based, where the characters react to situations and develop and change as the story develops, description and a certain insight into emotions and passions is absolutely necessary. Hemingway and Carver are two of the very few writers who manage to convey these feelings using very few words, and two writers who do manage to develop their characters and make us feel that they are really alive, that they are really living people. The importance of where they place their characters cannot be ignored here. If, as is the case with Of Honest Fame (and several other Diiarts novels), place and character are described with care and skill, the story will take care of itself.

Comments are closed.