The trouble with jargon… and with plain language

This post has now moved to The Power of Language’s new home here.

This entry was posted in Ben Bennetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The trouble with jargon… and with plain language

  1. Guest says:

    Interesting you should mention Dwight Swain. I came across some of his disciples on the writers’ website Authonomy. In their treatment of other writers they exhibited all the bullying traits you ascribe to Swain himself.

  2. Pingback: The trouble with jargon… and with plain language (via The Power of Language) « Things Unrespected

  3. Ben Bennetts says:

    I wish I’d discovered this excellent post by Yvonne Frindle in time to include it in the above. I had the Shaw quotation on my wall throughout my student years, as a daily warning against disappearing up some academic fundament.

Comments are closed.